Skip to content

Shrimp Burger with Baked Sweet Potato Fries

May 27, 2010
I remember exactly when I first ate sweet potato, like it was last month. Maybe it’s because it was in fact last month; I was at my grandmother’s and she cooked this malay dish called Pucuk Ubi Masak Lemak which very (very!) loosely translated is "Tapioca Shoots Soup/Gravy/Stew". When I discovered that I didn’t really hate it, I began to question why I’ve never eaten it before. I think it’s because I assumed it tasted as bleh as yams. Yams. BLEH! Anyhow, I came across a recipe for baked sweet potato fries and it looked so good that I pretty much wanted to make it on the spot.

As for the shrimp burger, let’s just say it was domestic coincidence. Unconventional fries need an unconventional burger, and I had frozen shrimp on hand so I figured, why not?

 


The recipe I used is the most basic of roasting/baking potatoes, I love using it because it’s very flexible. Originally, the recipe calls for rosemary (because rosemary and potatoes are amazing together) but I have replaced it with thyme, basil and parsley. And they all tasted awesome!

 

Baked Sweet Potato Fries
1 large sweet potato, skin on
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp sea salt
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp dried rosemary (or any herbs you have on hand)

 

 

-preheat oven to 425°F/220°C
-wash and dry the sweet potato and cut into "fries"
-throw the fries and the rest of the ingredients in a bowl and coat the fries thorougly
-put the fries in a even layer on a foil/baking sheet covered pan
-bake for 15mins, turn the fries over and bake for another 15mins

 

While the fries are in the oven, make the burger patties. I, umm, threw stuff together and hoped it worked because the shrimp burger recipes I found online had a lot of ingredients that I did not have on hand. A lot of finger crossings took place while making this!

 

Shrimp Burger
200g peeled and deveined shrimp (About 20 pieces)
½ cup panko breadcrumbs
1 egg
2 tsp paprika
2 tsp italian herbs

 

 

-chop ½ of the shrimp roughly and the rest finely
-mix the shrimp and the rest of the ingredients well and shape into patties (you should get 2)
-put into the fridge for at least 10 minutes before frying

 

It took me all of 5 minutes to make the patties, so I only took them out of the fridge when the sweet potatoes were ready.

Heat a pan with a bit of vegetable oil and fry each side on medium high heat for about 3 minutes.

 

I served the shrimp patty on a toasted burger bun with a slice of cheese and some greens.

Let’s talk about the fries. Loved it! The ends were crispy but the centers were soft, just the way I like it.

 


As for the shrimp burger, I liked it but the next time I would probably add some diced bell peppers, or spring onions. Either way, a good first attempt!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2010 8:37 PM

    Wish I had your courage and creativity when it comes to cooking! The shrimp burger sounds great and totally awww-worthy, but you’ve got me craving for sweet potato fritters now :P

    I’m looking forward to more savoury dishes from you, coz in the words of Eddy Grant, you “gimme hope [Jo'anna, gimme hope!]” :D

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      May 31, 2010 9:41 PM

      thanks for the sweet comment :D and please, i wish i had your courage in your non-mainstream desserts, like the dumplings and flapjacks and cinnamon rolls! unfortunately my yeast phobia prevails, but i’m hoping to ease myself slowly into that world so that one day i might be able to make donuts! *fingers crossed*

Trackbacks

  1. Memorial Day BBQ « Pregnancy to Parenthood: A Journey through Motherhood

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

