Skip to content

Breakfast Toast Cups

June 11, 2010
I love breakfast food way too much for someone who doesn’t usually eat breakfast. I am, however, a huge advocate of brunch and brinner. Why ignore your craving for pancakes, or scrambled eggs, or even a giant bowl of cereal just because it’s not 9 in the morning? Throw caution to the wind and have breakfast at any time of day! If it helps, you have my full support.

So yes, I did eat this lovely compact breakfast bake for lunch and I loved every minute of it!

 

Breakfast Toast Cups *adapted from here*
2 slices of bread
2 eggs, small
1 slice of bacon, cut into 2 lengthwise (I don’t eat pork so I used beef bacon)
2 tsp grated parmesan
salt and pepper to taste

 

 

-preheat your oven to 400°F/200°C
-partially cook the bacon for a few minutes, set aside on a paper towel
-with a cookie cutter (or use a cup, like me) and cut circles from the bread
-press the bread circles into a buttered muffin pan and shape the bacon around it
-add a tsp of parmesan into each cup and put the pan into the oven for 5mins
-take out the pan, crack an egg into each toast cup and add salt and pepper
-return the pan back into the oven for another 10mins
-scoop out each cup with a spoon (don’t be afraid, it’s jiggly but pretty firm!) and serve warm

 


These were ace! There’s something so charming about eating an entire meal like a muffin. Don’t judge but I ate them with chilli sauce and… a little bit of pancake syrup. What? They tasted gooood.
Toast. Eggs. Bacon.

 

Need I say more?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 7:25 AM

    I made and posted about a very similar recipe a few weeks ago, but instead of Parmesan I used cheddar cheese. To each their own! These look great!

  2. Amara permalink
    June 12, 2010 9:21 AM

    Made this tonight for a late night dinner with the husband. I had trouble with the bacon cooking fully under the egg. I used sourdough bread. Other than the bacon, it was awesome. I’ll try it again and cook the bacon longer before putting it with the bread.

    • Wendy permalink
      June 14, 2010 10:53 AM

      A tip on the bacon. Since you already are heating up the oven to cook the eggs, I put the bacon in the oven first for 5 min. Then I take that out and use the bacon to line the muffin cups after the bread is placed in the bottom. From there, everything cooks up perfect. That gives the bacon a full 20 min in the oven from start to finish.

  3. June 12, 2010 9:35 AM

    Great photo tutorial!

    Carmen

  4. June 12, 2010 1:44 PM

    Oh that is rather ingenious! Now if only I had one of those muffins trays…

  5. rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
    June 12, 2010 3:00 PM

    @Georgia – Oh wow, I was just at your blog the other day reading about the delicious looking strawberry lemonade! And yes, the original recipe had shredded cheese in them, but I only had the parmesan cheese on hand so I made do… Will def try them again with proper cheese!

    @Amara – Sorry about the bacon, but glad you liked it anyway!

    @ Carmen – Thank you :D

    @Gali – You can definitely use a well buttered ramekin instead!

  6. Amara permalink
    June 25, 2010 2:56 AM

    So I’ve gone back and made this again but with completely cooked bacon. And I’ve made it again and again and again….
    I LOVE THIS RECIPE!

  7. Julia permalink
    June 27, 2010 11:06 PM

    I was doubtful about the heat of the oven, but after trying the recipe, my doubts are assuaged. Delicious!

    And cute, too. :3

  8. rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
    June 28, 2010 12:55 AM

    @Amara, @Julia – I am really glad other people enjoy this recipe as much as I do!

  9. July 26, 2010 1:32 AM

    I made these this morning and they’re fabulous! I added some fontina cheese and did freshly shredded parm, and added some cavenders seasoning on top. What a great idea for feeding a bunch of people and making sure everything comes out hot!

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      July 26, 2010 1:45 AM

      oh my, fontina cheese with it sounds lovely! and i’m glad you enjoyed it :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

