Skip to content

Salted Caramel Cheesecake

June 26, 2010
When I was in Kuala Lumpur last May, I ate a couple of cute and really delicious mini cheesecakes from The Loaf and my favourite was of course, the caramel one. It was so good that when I was back home and uploading photos from the trip I experienced serious withdrawals. However, the idea of taking another 5hr bus ride was cramping my style so I did the next best thing. I googled! I believe I searched for “individual caramel cheesecakes” and a dozen clicks later ended up here. Oh my.
As Liz Lemon would say, “I want to go to there.”

I only went “to there” more than a year later.

 

Salted Caramel Cheesecake *recipe from here*
cheesecake
½ pound cream cheese, at room temperature
½ cup sugar
3 large eggs, at room temperature
½ cup sour cream
caramel
6 tbsp light corn syrup
½ cup plus 2 tbsp sugar
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
½ cup heavy cream
Fleur de sel (I used regular sea salt)

 


-preheat the oven to 325°f/165°c
-in a large bowl, beat the cream cheese and sugar until smooth
-beat in the eggs one at a time
-beat in the sour cream

 


-divide the batter into 6 ramekins/custard cups (I used a measuring cup, it amounts to ½ cup/ramekin)
-set the cups into a bigger pan, add hot water into the pan until it reaches halfway up the sides
-bake for 10 mins, turn off the oven and leave the cheesecakes in for 1hr
-transfer the cups to a wire rack

 


-in a saucepan on low heat, heat the corn syrup for a few mins
-turn the heat to medium and stir in the sugar
-leave undisturbed for about 9mins or until it turns a deep amber colour
-turn off the heat and stir in the butter
-stir in the heavy cream in a thin stream

 


-transfer the caramel into a heatproof pitcher/bowl and stir in the salt, let cool

 


-spoon about 1½-2 tbsp on caramel on the tops of the cheesecakes
-refrigerate the cheesecakes for at least 3hrs
-sprinkle sea salt right before serving (I did this before refrigerating the cheesecakes)
-leftover caramel (and you will get a lot leftover) can be used as ice-cream syrup (win-win!)

 

I debated eating one right away without the 3hr wait because well, look at them!

Somehow I managed a bit of restraint and chilled while the cheesecakes chilled.

 

What is it about burnt sugar?

Why can I never turn down anything with caramel or butterscotch or toffee?
Do I need to get my head shrunk?

 

Anyhow, I loved this.

It’s sweet, indulgent and very lush. If like me, you’re forever craving for cheesecakes but never able to finish a slice on account of it being way too rich, then this is perfect! I know they say don’t mess with perfection but I might add a standard base of graham crackers/digestives the next time I make these.

 

Viva la caramel!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2010 9:59 PM

    Oh my gosh, wow! You know I haven’t had these since I first made them and now you’ve made my mouth water. I want them again. Delicious!

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      June 28, 2010 12:57 AM

      I just checked the date of your post, 2 and a half years is a very long time to go without these cheesecakes! And also, thanks for baking them in the first place :D

  2. June 28, 2010 3:45 AM

    I loooove salted caramel!! Wow I can’t imagine how gorgeous this tastes!

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      June 28, 2010 4:00 AM

      From one fan to another, please try it! Or just make the topping and eat it with vanilla ice cream :)

  3. Gerrystark permalink
    June 29, 2010 10:00 AM

    They look good :) and btw, I love the loaf heehee

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      June 29, 2010 11:22 AM

      Hi Gerry! & thanksss. I love The Loaf too, my mom and I usually stock up on the breads right before we leave so we can feast on them back in SG. Wish they delivered!

  4. June 29, 2010 4:33 PM

    I don’t even eat cheesecake, but this has got me wishing I could lick off the gorgeous caramel! And hey, is that a Daiso spoon I spy? Hehe :P

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      June 29, 2010 5:27 PM

      The caramel was lickworthy indeed! And yes, it’s from Daiso a.k.a. the place I want to call home :)

  5. September 16, 2010 11:33 PM

    this looks so delicious!

    have a nice time!
    Paula

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      September 16, 2010 11:52 PM

      thanks Paula! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

