Skip to content

Nigella’s High-Speed Hamburger

July 5, 2010
Let’s get serious; who doesn’t love Nigella Lawson? As campy as the sensual angle her shows adopt, she is thoroughly entertaining. I don’t know if it’s the beautiful kitchen, the very well stocked fridge and pantry or the pretty plates and serving dishes, but after each episode, all I can think of is “Please adopt me”. Say what you will about her, the girl makes me wanna cook and eat, not necessarily in that order. I was so happy when she was a guest judge on last season’s Top Chef, she needs to have a new show, stat! (Speaking of which, who else is stupidly excited for Top Chef: Just Desserts? Hubert Keller, hell yes!) Anyhow, I made this burger a month ago and wanted to make it again pretty much immediately.

With only 5 main ingredients and 3 steps, this truly is an express burger.

 

High-Speed Hamburger *from Nigella Express*
8 oz/250g extra lean ground beef
1 tablespoon caramelized onions from a jar or homemade
1½ tsp plain yogurt
1½ tsp soy sauce
1½ tsp Worcestershire sauce
pepper
vegetable oil

 

I made my own caramelized onions because I cannot find them in jars anywhere and plus, I reckon they would be pretty expensive so perhaps it’s a good thing that they’re hard to get. But I do wish that there was an easier way of making caramelized onions because I LOVE them. They’re not hard to make per se, just time-consuming. It took me 45mins to make them; 5mins to peel and cut the onions, 5mins to stop crying from peeling and cutting the onions and 35mins for the onions to fully caramelize.

I won’t be adding a recipe because it’s kind of like coffee, it’s pretty basic and everyone does them differently. I personally use a little bit of olive oil, a little bit of butter and a sprinkling of coarse sugar but seriously, do some research and just pick a recipe, any recipe.

 

- mix the beef with the onions, yogurt, soy sauce, and worcestershire sauce, season with pepper.
-form into two patties, either using a burger press or by hand.
-heat a pan and lightly brush the patties with vegetable oil
-cook for 2 minutes on each side, remove and rest the patties for a minute or 2

 


If your griddle/pan/griddle pan is big enough, toast the buns at the same time. After turning the burger, I added a slice of cheese on top of it, so that it’s nice and “melty”. The original recipe calls for crumbled blue cheese which was what I used the first time I made these burgers. True story; with the leftover blue cheese and yogurt, I made blue cheese dressing and kept it in the fridge in a see through tupperware for future use. Mommy dearest threw it out a few days later, thinking it was toxic waste. Her excuse?
“It smelled like cat vomit!”

In the cookbook, the complete recipe included “fast fries” which is basically smashed pieces of baby potatoes (ziploc + rollling pin + go crazy) that’s lightly fried. I made them the last time I had this burger but this time I didn’t have any baby potatoes so I used this bag of fries I found in the freezer.

 

Topped my burger with lettuce and even more caramelized onions

Please make this right away so you may share my joy. And oh trust me, there’s gonna be joy. Lots of it.

 

A close up so you can see just how juicy the burger is.

Yes, the cheese is practically melting off the bun. And yes, that’s me grinning like the Cheshire Cat.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 12:14 PM

    Have you ever considered moving to CCK? Perhaps somewhere strategically next to me? No?

    Well just in case you ever change your mind, do know that I’ll have an abundance of cinnabons and golden syrup dumplings awaiting you.

    p/s: I can’t find Worcestershire in NTUC & CP’s Cold Storage! Any recommendations?

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      July 8, 2010 5:27 PM

      hahaa, i’m too much of a north-easter to even think of moving to the west! but i will keep you updated, the promise of cinnabons is tempting ;)

      i got mine at the cold storage at either compass point or centrepoint and if i remember correctly, the sauce isn’t near the chilli/tomato sauce aisle, it’s nearer to the olive oil and italian sauces section. hope you find a bottle!

  2. August 7, 2010 3:36 AM

    That burger looks amazing! You should submit the recipe to the Recipe4Living Juiciest Burger Contest here!

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      August 7, 2010 3:54 AM

      wow thanks for the heads up, i’ll definitely give it a go!

  3. October 26, 2010 10:10 AM

    Yum, I love this recipe too. I have been hunting for caramelized onions in a jar around Singapore too – no luck so far. I used bbq sauce instead of worcestershire and it worked just fine.

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      October 26, 2010 7:50 PM

      yup, i’ve been to the more upscale supermarkets in town and have found none. looks like we’re doomed to making them from scratch! :)

  4. December 12, 2010 8:38 AM

    mmmmmmm i want burgers nowwww :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

