Skip to content

Spicy Garlic Fried Chicken

August 11, 2010
The first step towards redemption would be to confess your sin(s).

Hello everyone, my name is Nadia. I am a chiliholic.

But wait, what if I don’t want to be saved? I’m not ready to give up this heat, guys! And this chicken dish? Only for the extreme of fanatics. They say the smaller the chili, the spicier it is, and this recipe uses 30 chili padis. So yeah, definitely not for the faint of heart.

 

Like the steamed fish, this was cooked by my mom! See, I even have a category called ‘Mom Cooks’.

Spicy Garlic Fried Chicken
1 whole chicken (washed and cut into smaller pieces)
1 tsp salt
2 tsp turmeric powder
30 bird’s eye chilies
30 cloves of garlic
2 tbsp fish sauce
A handful of basil
Salt and sugar to taste

 


-rub the turmeric powder and salt all over the chicken pieces
-fry the chicken until cooked and set aside

 


-pulse the garlic cloves and bird’s eye chilies in a blender
-stir fry the sauce in a bit of oil for 5 minutes
-add the fish sauce, salt and sugar and stir thoroughly

 


-add in the fried chicken and stir well, making sure every part of the chicken is covered
-turn off the heat and stir in the basil
-have a BIG jug of iced water ready!

 

Served with chicken rice (btw Singaporeans, my mom swears by this. it really is awesome!) and a simple stir fry of mixed vegetables with garlic and oyster sauce, this was so good.

It tastes kind of like a super spicy version of sambal belado, which is odd because this doesn’t have any tomatoes at all. Anyway, I loved it! It did feel for a bit like I was on Man vs. Food but if you’re a true blue red chiliholic, you’ll enjoy this. My mother couldn’t handle it (WEAK!) so I guess I have to learn to make this myself. The brave walks alone!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 10:51 PM

    Yummmmmmmmm! I love spicy food, too. This sounds wonderful!

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      August 15, 2010 11:26 PM

      thank you! popped over to your blog and i love it, adding you to my blogroll :)

  2. August 18, 2010 4:56 AM

    This dish looks absolutely divine.

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      August 18, 2010 5:04 AM

      thank you :)

  3. Imee permalink
    August 31, 2010 5:49 PM

    Saw your post for the oven baked onion rings, and followed the link to your blog. Next thing I knew, I was reading through all your posts (and salivating) until I realized that (a) you’re Muslim, (b) you’re Singaporean (I’m from Malaysia!) and most importantly, (c) you love chilli. I couldn’t hit the ‘Bookmark’ button fast enough! :)

    I’ll definitely be trying this recipe soon. Thanks! :D

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      August 31, 2010 6:13 PM

      hi imee! thanks for reading and bookmarking and i hope you’ll like this dish :)

      also, selamat berbuka (in an hr!)

  4. September 17, 2010 8:39 PM

    Hi. I love garlic going to try this recipe over the weekend.

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      September 18, 2010 12:08 AM

      Hello, hope you’ll enjoy the dish!

Trackbacks

  1. Sauces, sambal et sambal goreng – vue d’ensemble « CUISINE INDONÉSIE

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

