Skip to content

Sandwich + Chips

December 22, 2010
This isn’t so much a “recipe” post as it is an extended “Look What I Had For Lunch!” post.
I made sandwich and I made chips.

But I promise it gets much more interesting from here on!

 

You’ll want to start with a kickass spread because sometimes plain old mayonnaise just doesn’t cut it.
I tried out this easy recipe from Tasty Kitchen.

 

Wasabi Spread
¾ cup Mayonnaise
1 tbsp Wasabi Paste
1 tbsp Soy Sauce
1 tbsp Honey (heaping)

Whisk all your ingredients together and you’re done!

 

Making chips is basically thinly slicing potatoes and then frying them. I’ll be honest, I only wanted to make the chips from scratch because my mom bought a mandolin when we went to ToTT. It was fun using the mandolin, I was in awe at how thin the potato slices were. I even had a smile plastered on my face when i accidentally sliced off a chunk of my thumb.

Yeah… let my pain be a cautionary tale (p.s. THERE WILL BE BLOOD), kids. Mandolins = Serious Business. This is what my thumb looked like a few days later. Literally! A chunk!

 

Moving on, you’ll want to make sure the potato slices are dry before you fry them up with very hot oil.

I’m sorry but I don’t know what temperature the oil should be. Sometimes it’s just a gut thing, especially when you don’t (and will probably never) own a candy/oil thermometer. When they’re done (light to medium brown in colour), transfer to a plate that’s lined with paper towels and sprinkle your seasonings (I used seasoned salt) over the still hot chips.

 

Mushrooms!

I cut thick slices of 2 baby portobello mushrooms and grilled them with very little oil and some generic dried italian seasoning blend. I think that’s why I love mushrooms, you can never screw them up.

 

And then the assembly of this awesome sandwich begins!

 

Toast 2 slices of thick white bread and spread the wasabi spread on one side each.

Place half a roasted red bell pepper (I got mine from the supermarket and just sliced it lengthwise)…

 


… followed by the grilled mushrooms…

 


… and then 2 slices of smoked salmon. Voila! A sandwich is born.

 

I mean, of course the sandwich was delicious.

When you slap together some of your favourite food in between bread, chances are you’re gonna love it. Now as for the chips, were they worth their weight in (my) blood?

 


Is anything? They were very good (and surprisingly as crispy as the ready made ones) but I’ll admit that I would have enjoyed them a whole lot more if I didn’t have such thick “padding” around my thumb. And yes, that was duct tape. And also yes, eating a sandwich with 9 fingers was pretty damn hard man.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2010 2:39 AM

    Yum – I just got a panini maker for Christmas so I am looking for some yummy sandwich ideas. Thanks!

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      December 28, 2010 3:47 PM

      So jealous, I’ve always wanted a panini maker! Have fun playing around with it :D

  2. January 2, 2011 8:03 PM

    What a tasty looking sandwich!

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      January 3, 2011 11:39 PM

      thank you! i love it when i get comments from people whose blog i read :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

