Skip to content

Soba Noodles

March 24, 2011
I LOVE soba. My family doesn’t get it, they would make this face (0_o) whenever we eat out and I order cha soba. A while back I was watching one of the many, many reruns of a Nigella Lawson show and she made a soba noodle salad of sorts and I was pretty much drooling. Right after that I got online, did a google search for “nigella+lawson+soba” and hurrah for me, this was the top result! Needless to say I’ve been making it ever since. So many times in fact that I’ve added and subtracted a couple of things.

Thus I present you my take on Nigella’s take on soba noodles!

 

 

Soba Noodles adapted from Forever Summer, as seen here
salt
1 carrot
8 oz soba noodles (I used a 200g packet)
2 tsp rice vinegar
4 tsp soy sauce
1 tsp hot water
3 tsp honey
2 tsp sesame oil
5 spring onions (I usually add more because I love the crunch and taste of spring onions!)

 

-bring a large pan of water to a boil and add some salt


-cut the carrot into matchsticks and dump them into the boiling water
-5 mins later, dump in the soba noodles into the same boiling water
-cook for 7 mins (or according to package instructions) until they are tender, not mushy


-make the dressing by whisking all the wet ingredients, set aside


-chop up the spring onions, set aside
-once the noodles are done drain them in a colander and run cold tap water over them until cool


-pour them back into the pan and mix in the dressing and spring onions


-toss until well coated, let sit for *30 minutes before serving

* to be honest I usually barely make it to 10 lol *

 

Folks, please make this.

Right away if possible.

 

I remember in the segment Nigella said something about how much she liked slurping this.

Me too, Miss Lawson, me too! And you’d be surprised at how filling this is. The recipe is enough for 2 servings so I usually make a whole portion, eat half for lunch and refrigerate the other half. TBC.

To Be Consumed.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2011 11:21 PM

    Look SO good! I love anything noodle and/or asian :) I’ll add this to my list of things to make!

  2. WifiAddict permalink
    March 26, 2011 4:10 AM

    I am going to make these tonight, but I’m pretty confident that I’m not going to make it even close to the 10 minutes that you can hold out! They look too delicious!

  3. rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
    March 26, 2011 3:12 PM

    @RachelSmiles – It is as good as it looks, I promise! :)

    @WifiAddict – Been there, man, been there!

  4. Randa permalink
    May 16, 2011 8:27 PM

    this is really genius never knew what to do with that pack of noodles.
    just finished cooking waiting for it to cool.. u could add chicken to it, maybe marinate the chicken in the soy sauce, mmmm!
    bon appetit for me :)

  5. May 14, 2012 4:37 AM

    Nigella never fails. This is the best soba noodle recipe ever!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

