Skip to content

Rainbow Pancakes + RebelWithoutASauce turned 1!

June 27, 2011
Hello friends! Pardon my absence, I’m just lazy. I have tons and tons of recipes to share from these past few weeks, like Strawberry Almond Crumble, Spicy Hot Wings, Stuffed Mushrooms, Bruschetta (which got the most compliments!), Lemon Fish and Couscous and oh my god I should stop here before I get overwhelmed and disappear for another month of two. Can you believe I made this on the exact day of this blog’s anniversary? Hence the psychedelic pancakes. Celebration “cake” indeed!

Nothing special really, they are just regular pancakes! Turns out food dye + any batter = fun. I wish I remember where I got this pancake recipe from, but I’ve been using it for years and years. In fact, this is my reference. A note on my fridge, cutting-edge stuff.

 

(Rainbow) Pancakes
*makes 8 medium sized pancakes*
1½ cup flour
4 tbsp sugar
1¾ tbsp baking powder (basically 2 scant tbsp)
1 tsp salt
1½ cup milk
3 tbsp vegetable oil
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
food colouring

- whisk the dry ingredients together in a medium bowl
– in a measuring jug, whisk all the wet ingredients together
– slowly add the wet into the dry, folding in with a spatula until well mixed
– divide batter into 4 portions, add food colouring to each portion
– in a pan, melt some butter and with a ¼ cup, scoop the batter into the pan
– when bubbles start to appear around the top of the pancake (about 3 minutes), flip to the other side and cook for another 2 minutes
– serve with butter and syrup (candles not necessary, but always encouraged)

 

Nothing like unnecessarily jazzing up old recipes, am I right?

This colourful stack of pancakes is dedicated to you reading this! Thank you for coming back/dropping by/chancing upon this blog, I appreciate every one of you. Especially you mom!

Now let them eat (pan)cake!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelvasha permalink
    June 27, 2011 12:13 PM

    Double rainbow all the way! (Sorry couldn’t help myself) Congrats to turning a year old!

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      June 27, 2011 5:15 PM

      IT’S SO INTENSE! OH GOD, WHAT DOES THIS MEAN?

      i imagine people who have yet to see the video, reading this must be confusing lol! and thank you :D

      • June 30, 2011 8:35 AM

        I’m sorry, but ROFL!!!

        I’m pretty sure these pancakes would’ve totally blown that dude’s mind as well. Amidst all the loud moanings, no less :P

        Happy blog birthday, RWAS!

  2. rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
    June 30, 2011 6:09 PM

    hahaa, double rainbow guy is definitely the guy to have pancakes with!

    and thank you for the bday wish! :D

  3. August 16, 2011 8:33 AM

    Love the colors :) Happy Bday!

  4. August 17, 2011 3:40 AM

    Ok well these look cool:)

  5. August 23, 2011 6:21 AM

    This looks great. Great for the kids.

  6. rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
    August 25, 2011 7:02 PM

    thank you everyone! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

