Skip to content

Pandan Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Frosting

May 10, 2010

For last year’s Mother’s Day, I baked my mom Sugar Donut Muffins and while it was enjoyed by all, this year I wanted to bake something traditional for her. My mom loves her Malay desserts but being the westernized brat that I am, my knowledge on that subject? Slim to none. The only Malay dessert that I know and like is ondeh-ondeh (and even then I had to ask around for the name, I only knew what it looked/tasted like!) but after reading some recipes online (I had to boil what in the what?) I decided that it was best for me to stick with what I know. So I took the good parts of an ondeh-ondeh, which by the way is a glutinous rice ball, infused with pandan, that’s filled with gula melaka (palm sugar aka the best sugar ever!) and then coated with coconut, and then made these cupcakes.

My inspired interpretation, if you will.

I originally wanted to pair the cupcakes with a palm sugar buttercream frosting but while I enjoy eating palm sugar, I have no idea how to work with it. It’s only available in this form here in Singapore (unless I haven’t been looking hard enough) and so I decided on a brown sugar frosting that I had bookmarked. But first, the pandan cupcakes!

Pandan Cupcakes from here
1 cup unsalted butter
1 3/4 cup castor sugar
2 eggs
3 tsp pandan (I used pandan essence)
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/2 cups ap flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/4 cup milk

-preheat the oven at 375°f/190°c
-cream the butter and sugar
-add the eggs, pandan and vanilla and cream until light and fluffy
-sift in the flour and baking powder, followed by the milk
-beat the mixture until you get a smooth batter
-spoon into cupcake cases and bake for 15-20mins

*the pandan that I used was colourless, so I added a bit of green food colouring to the batter*

As usual, cool the cupcakes before frosting. I thought it’d be cool to sprinkle some coconut over it but it ended up looking messy!

I’m really glad I used this frosting, it complimented the cupcakes perfectly!

Brown Sugar Frosting adapted from here
1/2 cup butter
1 cup brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup milk
3/4 cup sifted powdered sugar

-melt the butter in a saucepan, add the brown sugar
-bring to a boil, and then lower the heat before adding the milk
-return to a boil, stir constantly
-when the mixture is thickened, turn off the heat and bring to room temperature
-pour the mixture into a mixing bowl and gradually beat in the powdered sugar
-frost!

The cupcakes that I laid out on the dining table for my mom before going to sleep. It was 5am at this point!

Waking up to a happy mother and almost no sunlight. I made do with what remaining natural light I had left.

Oh that little swirl.

My mother loved it (thank god) and so did I! I actually loved the frosting more and am already thinking of pairing it with a chocolate cake or cupcakes.

Also, a happy belated Mother’s Day to all mothers reading this !

Yes, you too mama!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 11:55 AM

    Perfect pairing of pandan with the brown sugar frosting! I’m a sucker for anything with gula melaka or brown sugar in it, so I’m definitely gonna have to give this brown sugar frosting a go.

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      May 15, 2010 12:39 PM

      at this very hot moment i am craving for chendol! and thanks for being the first ever commentor on this blog :D

Leave a Reply

