Skip to content

Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins

June 30, 2010
I can’t believe that it took me this long to post a muffin recipe because when I first started baking, I pretty much baked nothing else. It was all mainly different variations of this extremely dependable recipe. I remember the first time I made them and I didn’t have measuring cups so I was measuring everything by weight and thinking “God, baking is such a chore!” Also, I wasn’t much of a banana eater. I think I ate them probably once… every 6 months. But I got so much positive feedback from that first batch of muffins, that I made them again and again and again.

Since then, I’ve gone bananas for bananas.

 

I made these for the lovely people at my mom’s workplace. Hi ladies! Anyway, this would be the 4th recipe I’ve tried from the amazing Baked cookbook. I seriously can’t wait to try their cakes! And how exciting it this; they’re gonna have a 2nd book! It’s going straight on my birthday wishlist.

 

 

Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins *from Baked*
1½ cups mashed ripe bananas (about 4 medium)
½ cup sugar
¼ cup packed light brown sugar
½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
¼ cup whole milk
1 large egg
1½ cups all purpose flour
1 tspn instant espresso
1½ tspn baking soda
1 tspn salt
1 cup (6 oz) semi sweet chocolate chips

 

 

-preheat the oven to 350°f/180°c
-in a bowl, whisk the dry ingredients and make a well in the center of the mixture
-in another bowl, stir together the bananas, sugars, butter, milk and egg
-pour the wet ingredients into the well and fold until just combined, then fold in the chocolate
-divide the batter into a greased muffin pan or muffin liners, bake for 20-25mins
-cool the muffins in the pan for 15 mins before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely

 


I got to use these cute as hell cupcake liners from Ikea! They were a bit bigger and wider than the liners I usually used so I only used them on 6 muffins.

 

 

Verdict?

I liked it but it was a little too moist for me.

 

I wasn’t that surprised really, the batter was thinner than usual.

But don’t get me wrong, it was tasty. I mean you can’t go wrong with bananas and chocolate anyhow, but I prefer my muffins a little crumbly. And preferably with a streusel topping. Mmmmm, streusel.

 

Muffins innards;

So unappetizing yet so flavorful.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 6:50 AM

    I really need to get some instant espresso and make these!

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      July 31, 2010 4:05 PM

      I always have instant espresso around because my parents basically live off the stuff. Hope you’ll enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

