Skip to content

Root Beer Bundt Cake

August 15, 2010
My grandfather (or dada, as we call him) turned 81 last week! I must say, choosing what cake to bake was actually a lot harder than baking it! All I knew was that it had to be chocolate. For my grandmother’s birthday this past April, I baked The Best Chocolate Sheet Cake Ever and it was pretty awesome. This time around, I wanted to bake something that will match that sheet cake in epicness.

In the end I chose this cake from this book.

 

 

Root Beer Bundt Cake *from Baked*
for the cake
2 cups root beer
1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into cubes
1¼ cups granulated sugar
½ cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1¼ tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 large eggs
for the frosting
2 oz dark chocolate, chopped, melted, and cooled slightly
½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter at room temperature
1 tsp salt
½ cup root beer
⅔ cup dark unsweetened cocoa powder
2½ cups powdered sugar

 

 

-preheat the oven to 350° f/180°c, spray a 10-inch bundt pan with nonstick spray, or butter and flour it.
-in a small saucepan, whisk the root beer, cocoa powder, and butter over medium heat until the butter is melted
-add the sugars and whisk until dissolved.
-remove from heat, transfer to a bowl, and let cool to room temperature
-in a separate bowl, whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt together
-in a smaller bowl, whisk the eggs until just beaten, then whisk them into the cooled cocoa mixture until combined
-gently fold the flour mixture into the cocoa mixture, the batter will be slightly lumpy but do not overbeat, as it could cause the cake to be tough

 

 

-pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 40-50 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through the baking time, until a small knife (or toothpick) comes out clean.
-transfer the cake to a wire rack to cool completely. Gently loosen the sides of the cake from the pan and turn it out onto the rack to frost.

 

The cake was really, really dark. I’ve never really baked anything with chocolate that came out this dark before so it was pretty startling. I left the cake in the fridge overnight and made the frosting the next day.

 

-put all the ingredients in a food processor and pulse in short bursts until the frosting is shiny and smooth
-frost the cake and let the frosting set for a while before serving

 

No pictures of the frosting process because it was really late in the afternoon, plus it was raining so my house was dark and gloomy and not really the perfect setting for proper food photography. I did however take this picture on my iphone after I was done frosting the cake. Gotta love those photo apps!

 


I made a last minute decision to try and make the cake look more festive by sprinkling pastel coloured chocolate rice over the top of the cake.

 


It ended up looking like the infamous pink donut from The Simpsons!

 

My biased (as the baker) and unbiased (as a non chocolate lover) opinion?

It was okay. Like many other food bloggers who’ve tried this recipe before me would agree, there was was little to no taste of root beer. The cake was nice and moist but oh lord, the chocolate taste. You can really tell that almost 2 cups of cocoa powder went into this and for me, it was a tad bit overwhelming. But if you’re a lover of dark chocolate and would like to try something new, I say go for it.

As for me, I’ll stick to milk and white chocolate, thank you very much.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 3:56 PM

    Ah, I’ve been wanting to make this, but root beer’s one of the few carbonated drinks I actually drink, so they never make it to the cake! Oh, and is it just me, or is Bundaberg nasty? Love the glass bottle, but I think I’ll stick to my A&W :P

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      August 17, 2010 7:06 PM

      It’s like not “gassy” enough right? If you get the chance, try out IBC root beer. It’s belly good!

Leave a Reply

