Skip to content

Smoked Salmon Pizza

September 16, 2010
This is not a mirage, this really is me posting an actual recipe after more than 2 weeks of pretty much nothing but “polaroids“. Guys, can we please talk about Top Chef? To be honest I stopped caring about who would win the moment my homegirl Tiffany got eliminated (Although Kevin? Really?), but I was excited about two things; the fact that the finale was filmed in Singapore (represent!) and that Top Chef: Just Desserts premiered right after the finale! I already love Zac’s one liners (“I will CUT you… with my flavour!”) and isn’t Yigit just a cutie pie? Anyway I digress! Let’s move on to the actual post. This dish was inspired by my constant need for smoked salmon and this lovely recipe. When I saw how easy it was to make (pizza base in the form of a store bought naan? I’m in!), I could not wait to try it.

And today, I did.

 

The original recipe actually made the cream cheese spread from scratch but I found a herb chive cream cheese spread so I took another shortcut in using that. Also, I divided the recipe so this is for 1 serving.

 

Smoked Salmon Pizza *adapted from here*
1 naan bread/any flat bread
2 tbsp cream cheese spread (I used this)
50g smoked salmon
1/4 red onion, sliced thinly
3 stalks chives, chopped
Handful of grated cheddar

 


-preheat oven to 200ºc/400ºf.
-spread the cream cheese evenly over the naan
-arrange the smoked salmon, onion slices, chopped chive and cheddar on the naan

 


-bake for 10-12 mins or until edges of crust are crisp and cheese is melted.

 

Oh my.

Please believe me when I say this was SO FREAKING GOOD.

 

I know this is pizza only in the loosest sense of the word but this really was one of the better pizzas I’ve had in my life. The naan was crispy, the cream cheese spread was not overpowering and I loved the crunch from the onions. And really, it was so simple to make this. The only real work I did was to chop up the onions and chives! Major plus point? Minimal clean up.

I’m no psychic but I foresee myself making this again in the not so distant future.

 

And by that I mean I am definitely making this tomorrow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 11:06 PM

    drooling now infront of my computer…

    i will definitely try this! and i just want to say your food blog is amazing.

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      October 16, 2010 12:23 AM

      thank you terry! :)

Leave a Reply

