Skip to content

Grammy’s Chocolate Cookies

October 3, 2010
The other day I was at Borders with 40% off coupons and I was torn between Nigella Lawson’s new book Kitchen and Martha Stewart’s Cookies. I ended up with the former because while they were the same price, Nigella’s book is like, literally hot off the press and is also way, way thicker than Cookies which appeased the cheapo in me. I did however, manage to reserve the Cookies book and its Cupcakes equivalent from the library and upon reading them, immediately wanted both cookies and cupcakes. This proved hard because it was 2 in the morning. So I did what anyone would have done.

I chose the easiest recipe (with the best name, really) and baked.

 

Grammy’s Chocolate Cookies *from here*
2 cups AP flour
¾ cup Dutch cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1¼ cups unsalted butter, room temperature
2 cups granulated sugar (I used castor sugar)
2 large eggs
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
sanding sugar for rolling (I used coarse white sugar)

 


-Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
-In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat butter, 2 cups sugar, and eggs on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Add vanilla, and mix to combine. Gradually add dry ingredients, and combine with mixer on low speed. Cover bowl with plastic wrap, and chill until dough is firm, about 1 hour.

 


-Preheat the oven to 350°F/180°C. Line baking sheets with Silpat baking mats (I used baking paper). Roll dough into 1¼ inch balls. Roll each ball in sanding sugar. Place on prepared baking sheets about 1½ inches apart.

 


-Bake until set, about 10-12 minutes, rotating halfway through. Cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

I really like how uniformly round these cookies are.

No matter how sloppy my rolling technique was, they spread and hold their round shape pretty well.

 

And of course, the most important thing is the taste and I give these cookies 2 thumbs up.

They’re the magical kind of cookies, crunchy yet chewy. I thought they might be a bit bitter because of the cocoa powder but they aren’t that at all. I might reduce the sugar in the batter by ¼ cup, or omit the rolling in sugar process altogether because 1) It’s pretty troublesome as the batter was still kinda soft even though I refrigerated it for 1½ hour and 2) I think it might have overshadowed the taste of the chocolate a bit. But I still loved them, they kinda taste like Oreos!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 4:56 PM

    Yummy! I just love milk and cookies! Yours look great! :))

Leave a Reply

