Skip to content

Chocolate Tart

January 12, 2011
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again (and I reckon, again and again in future posts) but I am not really a chocolate person. I mean, I’ll eat chocolate (yes to white and milk, no to dark and bittersweet!) but my eyes won’t roll back into my head in ecstasy. For some reason though, my fridge is always full of chocolate. Chocolate for baking aside, there are bars of Toblerone, Cadbury, Ferrero Rocher and more. This past weekend, I decided to make a tart for a mini post birthday celebration I was having and what better way to “get rid” of chocolate that would have otherwise lived in my fridge for the rest of their lives than to dump them into a yummy tart shell and call it a day? For this recipe I used 3 types of chocolate; milk chocolate covertures, 2 bars of Toblerone and 2 bars of this awesome chocolate I got from Ikea’s Swedish Food Market. Also, another great thing about this recipe is that there’s only 5 ingredients!

Five. 5 ingredients, people!

 

Chocolate Tart
crust (as seen here)
1½ cups of crushed graham crackers or digestives
6 tbsp (85g) butter, melted
3 tbsp castor sugar
filling
500g (a little over 17oz) chocolate
1 cup double cream / heavy whipping cream

 

-preheat oven to 350°f/180°c
-mix the ingredients for the crust and press onto the bottom and sides of a pie/tart pan
-bake for 10mins, let cool for at least 30mins before using
-place all of the chocolate in a big heatproof bowl
-heat the double cream/heavy whipping cream until boiling
-pour the hot liquid over the chocolate, let stand for a few minutes
-whisk the mixture until thick and all the chocolate has melted
-pour into the tart shell and place in the fridge for 2 hours (or in the freezer for 1!) before serving

 

Before

 

After

 


There it is again, next to the store bought (gasp!) Strawberry Shortcake erm, Cake my nyai (grandmother) and I shared. Her birthday is a day after mine!

 

Naturally before cutting into the tart, I thought of how I’ve never made this before, and if the ganache had set and harden, and if my family members would laugh and point at me if it didn’t.

Luckily it did. Beautifully so, might I add! Phew.

 


Everybody loved the tart! I did too, but then again I love anything with a crust made out of digestives. So weird because I don’t like digestives on its own (unless it’s this or this!) but make it into a crust and I’m in. So if you have lots of chocolate to spare, make this tart right now.

And if you don’t have lots of chocolate to spare, buy some and then make this tart.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 11:03 AM

    are you sure you are a woman? OMG, my daughter and I both cracked up about this and I went to your ‘about’ page to assertain your gender. found you on foodgawker btw. :)

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      January 13, 2011 2:28 PM

      what was it, may i ask, about this post that made you guys question my gender?! hahahaa. i am so curious now!

      • January 14, 2011 1:41 AM

        Un-eaten chocolate in your refrigerator LOL. You either have a will of iron or are lacking the chocolate craving gene the rest of us a cursed with LOL. I swear I hear chocolate whispering to me.

  2. January 13, 2011 4:47 PM

    you don’t like dark chocolate? that’s weird..Everyone prefer dark chocolate. Anyway, great easy recipe!

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      January 13, 2011 11:04 PM

      hahahaa, i just don’t like the bitter aftertaste of dark chocolate! :)

    • January 14, 2011 12:20 AM

      I don’t like dark chocolate either just for the reasons you stated (bitter aftertaste); in fact, a lot of people are not crazy about dark chocolate. I think the other poster was questioning your gender because you’re not crazy about chocolate. Everyone has different gastronomic preferences, and those preferences have nothing to do with gender. I am not super crazy about chocolate either, but my relatives are, so I make chocolate desserts for them.

      This tart looks amazing and so simple! Thank you for the recipe.

  3. rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
    January 14, 2011 2:09 AM

    @Marlis – LOL. my sweet tooth strictly prioritizes caramel/butterscotch/toffee so chocolate isn’t a want/need, it’s a “it’s just there” thing :D

    @mangiodasola – thank you! knew there was nothing wrong with me! hahaa :)

  4. Laura permalink
    January 14, 2011 4:31 PM

    Just made this, with crushed oreos and Marie biscuits for the crust, for a family dinner tomorrow night. It LOOKS beautiful and hopefully tastes just as good! Thanks for the recipe!

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      January 14, 2011 4:40 PM

      yeay!! i’ve got my fingers crossed just in case (:

  5. January 16, 2011 11:25 AM

    I have a ton of uneaten chocolates in my fridge, too! I’m not entirely sure why. I mean, I love chocolate, but I don’t seem to feel the need to eat chocolate bars. (I eat chocolate everything else, though!) And this recipe seems like JUST the thing I need to use up all those choccies!

    Question, though. How big is the tart pan in your recipe? I just received a tart pan a couple of weeks ago for my birthday, and I’m dying to use it. It seems quite small, though, and yours seems quite big! (I’m just seeing if I need to scale the recipe)

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      January 16, 2011 11:41 AM

      Hi Imee! I think it’s a standard pie/tart pan, 9inches… here’s a tip; if there are any remainders, use that to make mini tarts with your muffin/cupcake pan! :)

      • Ain permalink
        January 17, 2011 1:42 AM

        dude, that looks amazing.

        i may have to make it once i get well from this stupid flu/fever/cough.

        also, now that you mentioned ikea, i’m having fond thoughts of epic daim cake.

      • January 20, 2011 3:33 PM

        Oooh, I never thought to make mini tarts! *facepalm* Thanks! Will definitely make this this weekend!

        Last question: How long does it last in the fridge, do you think?

  6. rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
    January 17, 2011 4:33 PM

    @ain – dude it tastes as good, trust me! jeez that damn sick bug has been getting around, had fever last week, passed it on to my mom :/

    let’s go ikea again soon, i need to get storage boxes anyway!

  7. rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
    January 20, 2011 4:55 PM

    @imee – i am unsure as this one had no leftovers! but if i have to guess i would say a week? i think!

Leave a Reply

