Skip to content

Toffee Bars

March 18, 2011
I love bar cookies. They’re like cookies without the hassle of baking in batches, which I kind of despise. So when my friends asked me to bake them something (anything!), I decided on these because they were simple enough and looked absolutely delish. And I know I know, another toffee-centric recipe?

I’m sorry, I searched for “bar cookies”, this came up and I couldn’t not make it!

 

What do you guys do when you bake?

I usually do my baking late at night (try 2 in the morning) and I am usually accompanied by my laptop! I was rewatching old episodes of Flights of the Conchords because I needed some folk parody in my life at that point of time. If you know which episode this is then we can totally be BFFs.

 

Toffee Bars adapted from Alice Medrich, as seen here
*for the crust*
12 tbsp unsalted butter
⅓ cup castor sugar
1 tsp vanilla
¼ tsp salt
2¼ cup ap flour
*for the topping*
1 tbsp water
¾ cup packed brown sugar
8 tbsp unsalted butter, cut into 4 chunks
1⅓ cup milk chocolate & semi sweet chocolate chips (equal quantity)

 

-Preheat oven to 350˚f/175˚c with the rack positioned in the lower third of the oven. Line the bottom and sides of a **9by 13inch pan with foil, leaving an overhang.

-To make the crust, melt the butter over medium heat in a small saucepan. Remove from heat and stir in sugar, vanilla, and salt. Add flour and mix just until incorporated to form a loose, crumbly dough.


-Press the dough evenly into the **foil lined pan. Bake 20-25 minutes or until the crust is lightly browned at the edges.

**Try as I might I could not do this in my 9×13 pan, there wasn’t enough dough! So I used my 8×8 pan instead**


-Meanwhile make the toffee topping. Combine water and brown sugar in a small saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat while stirring occasionally. Remove the pan from heat and whisk in the butter.


-When the crust has finished baking, pour toffee topping over the crust. Return the pan to the oven and bake for 12-15 minutes, or until the toffee is dark and bubbling. Remove the pan from the oven and allow to cool.


-Melt the chocolate in a small heat proof bowl in the microwave in 30 second increments being careful not to allow it to burn.


-Pour the melted chocolate in the pan and spread with a spatula to smooth. Set aside to allow the chocolate to harden. If needed, place in the refrigerator if the chocolate doesn’t set up at room temperature.


-When the chocolate has set up, using the foil overhang to lift, remove from the bars from the baking pan and transfer to a board for cutting. Cut to make approximately 24 bars.

 

So… are you ready for my honest review?

If you don’t have a supernaturally sweet tooth, I’d say skip this. All my friends really liked it though, I personally just could not get over the fact that the toffee part was more like melted brown sugar than actual toffee. Maybe I made a mistake along the way or maybe I’m just too critical of my bakes, I don’t know. But like I said, if you really like your sweets umm, sweet then definitely go for it.

 

And Alice Medrich I still love you boo!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

