Skip to content

Smells Like Curry Spirit

August 24, 2011
If you’re a Singaporean or have, for some reason, been keeping up with the news here then you would have known that this past Sunday, the entire nation had an unofficial Curry Day. Super long and perhaps overblown story can be found here but in a nutshell, (foreign) Chinese family cannot stand the smell of (local) Indian neighbour’s curry. A BIG hoo-haa ensued, resulting in every born-and-bred Singaporean screaming bloody curry murder, even though it was later revealed that the example that the article referenced apparently happened 7 years ago. Citizens came together and declared the 21st of August 2011, Curry Day. Since this food blog is obviously not a platform for anything serious, I shall stop here and say… my mom cooked curry on Curry Day.

To be more specific, Meatball Korma!

It was soooooooooo good. And I’m not just saying that because the woman gave birth to me.


I loved how the meatballs were tender and juicy, and the gravy? Just the right consistency. It was creamy but not to the point of overindulgence. My mom intended for us to eat it with pita bread (as pictured) but I ate it with her yellow rice. I wish I took a picture of that but man, I was busy stuffing my face eating demurely like a proper lady.

Recipe coming up in a later post, because I’m nothing if not mysterious. And by mysterious I mean my mom is at work and I don’t really know the recipe. Have a good day everyone!

 

*Also, thank you for the shout-out Foodpress and HELLOOOOO new readers!*

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

