Skip to content

Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies

March 6, 2011
Fate works in mysterious ways. Such an overused and cliched quote but only because it’s true. Take these cookies for example. In anticipation for the new Jane Eyre movie that’s coming out, I was rewatching the 2006 BBC miniseries recently. At the many mentions of Thornfield Hall, I got reminded of my ultimate favourite cookie in the whole wide world, which is the Butter Toffee soft cookie from Mrs Fields. My mom used to buy them for me all the time when I was a teenager. I would be so happy when I got home from school and saw that white paper bag in the kitchen, that I knew had a Butter Toffee soft cookie inside. Bliss! Anyway, so we were grocery shopping last week and I saw this box of toffee that I knew I must have. It’s hard to get these sort of things in Singapore, and it was really cheap too so I snatched it up. When we got back and I was unpacking the groceries (which strangely enough, is something I love to do), I looked at the box and realised that the brand was… Thorntons. Thorntons!

Thorntons + Mrs Fields = Mrs Thornfield! Fate, no? No? Okay then, cookies!

 

The toffee I used for this recipe.

In case any Singaporeans are wondering, I got this at Mustafa Center and it was only $2.90!

 

Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies adapted from here
*Makes 21-22 medium sized cookies (I used a medium cookie scoop)
½ cup sugar
½ cup light brown sugar
½ cup (1 sticks) butter, softened
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1½ cups all-purpose flour
¼ cup semisweet chocolate chips
¼ cup white chocolate chips
½ cup toffee bits

 

-Preheat oven to 375°f/190°c and prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper.

-Place sugar, dark brown sugar, butter, eggs and vanilla in a bowl and beat *whisk until smooth.

 


-Add baking soda, salt and flour to the sugar mixture and *whisk together until smooth.

 


-Fold in chocolate chips and toffee bits.
-Drop rounded tablespoonfuls (or use a cookie scoop) onto baking sheet approximately 2 inches apart.
-Bake for 5 minutes, rotate the baking sheet and then bake for another 5 minutes.
-Remove from the oven and allow to cool on baking sheet for 1-2 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

*Look ma, no mixer! I used a wooden spoon for these cookies.*

 


These cookies? They spread. They won’t be thin and crispy, they just.. spread. When you first take them out of the oven, you will probably be like “Mon Dieu!” at their state. YES, their shape will look like that of a sunny side up egg, but also YES that can be fixed! Right out the oven, use a spatula and push the sides back so it’ll look like you know, an actual cookie and that’s it. Don’t sweat the small stuff man!

 


I think these cookies are haunted. Like Madwoman-in-the-Attic kind of haunted. They call out to you in the middle of the night, begging to be eaten and like a moth to the flame, I answered their calls. These cookies are so good, and they’re the sort that tastes even better a day or 2 after baking. I personally like their texture the best on the 2nd day. They’re no Mrs Fields but damn, they’re close.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 5:53 AM

    These look amazing! That’s it. I’m making cookies tonight!
    (PS I’m scared that this Jane Eyre won’t be good!)

  2. March 10, 2011 9:35 AM

    Looks totally awesome. You should post it on http://www.tasteimonials.com too. They are new and don’t deny your submissions for lighting or composition. Check it out. They’re great. be part of the start up.

  3. Sherina permalink
    March 10, 2011 9:52 AM

    hiya nadia,

    LOVE this recipe! i am a toffee/caramel/confiture du lait addict (do you spot a trend here?).

    i love in singapore too and was wondering WHERE THE HELL you found the thorntons toffee? seriously. by revealing this to me, you may enable my toffee habit but cmon….i need my fix. it has been too long.

  4. March 10, 2011 2:32 PM

    Oh.my.gosh! I need to make these asap! DIVINE!!!

    Great blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  5. rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
    March 10, 2011 7:20 PM

    erika beth: hope you’ll enjoy them like i enjoyed mine! and i was scared too, wasn’t too sure about the cast at first but after seeing a few clips of the movie i think that it will be great… or at least close! *fingers crossed!*

    glk: thanks, i’ll check it out!

    sherina: i am a total burnt sugar addict too! like go away chocolate, gimme my caramel/toffee/butterscotch. and i found it at the grocery section of mustafa center! i shall enable your addiction only so i will have a friend in the aftermath of burnt sugar bliss ;)

    mary: make them make them make them! and thank you :)

  6. March 13, 2011 9:29 AM

    Yum, gooey bits of toffee make for one fantastic cookie. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your cookies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-8.html

  7. Sherina permalink
    March 14, 2011 4:16 PM

    THANK you nadia!! cant wait to get my hands on that toffee stuff

  8. Chelsea permalink
    March 14, 2011 9:56 PM

    Wow. I mean wow. I just woke up and now I’m craving cookies. I’m not in Singapore but is that toffee something you can get internationally? I would eat it all by itself! If not I’ll just try it with toffee chips :) Thanks!!!

  9. March 14, 2011 11:34 PM

    I just made these (but with caramel bits since I didn’t have toffee on hand.) So good!
    http://lifestooshorttoskipdessert.blogspot.com/2011/03/white-semi-sweet-chocolate-chip-cookies.html

  10. rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
    March 15, 2011 12:05 AM

    lisa: thanks, i’ll check it out!

    sherina: just remember you brush your teeth after eating all the sweet toffee! lol ;)

    chelsea: the brand of toffee actually has a website http://www.thorntons.co.uk/ and i ate some of it on its own but then my jaw started hurting from all that chewing so in they went into the cookie batter!

    erika beth: they look good! and so happy you enjoyed them :)

  11. Dani permalink
    September 9, 2011 11:27 PM

    I Just made these, they are so good!

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      September 10, 2011 1:57 AM

      yeay! really glad you like them :D

Trackbacks

  1. Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies » With Sprinkles on Top
  2. Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies | crumblyinmytumbly

Leave a comment