Skip to content

Andes Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

June 3, 2010
I have really fond memories of these Andes chocolate mints. When I was in secondary school, my geography teacher gave them out everytime we did well in tests. Unfortunately for me, geography was not my shining glory so I got them a total of two times. Wait, did I say fond memories? I think I meant regular memories… I must be getting old.

Anyhow, I saw these the other day and decided to bake either cookies/blondies/brownies with them. I ended up baking cookies because I realized that I haven’t eaten a cookie since February. Come to think of it, I haven’t had a blondie or a brownie for even longer. I am getting old!

 

I originally wanted to get these but was forced to get the original.

Long story short, never go grocery shopping with 2 hardcore chocolate lovers!

 


Naked thin mints.

 

Andes Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies *adapted from Baked*
2 cups AP flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
½ cup castor sugar
2 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla
1 cup Andes Thin Mints, chopped up (28 pieces)
1 cup milk chocolate covertures

 

 

-sift the flour, salt and baking soda in a bowl and set aside
-beat the butter and both sugars until light and creamy
-beat in the eggs, one at a time, scraping the bowl after each addition
-add the vanilla and beat for 5 seconds
-add in half of the flour mixture and beat well, scrape the bowl and repeat with the other half
-stir in the thin mints and covertures

 

Now comes the hard part… cover the bowl with cling and put it in the fridge.

I know it’s difficult but you know what they say. Good things come to those who chill their cookie dough for at least 6 hours.

 

After the cookie dough is done chillaxing in the fridge, preheat the oven at 375°F/190°C. Scoop out the dough in tablespoons and with your palms, roll into balls. Place on a baking sheet covered cookie pan and bake for 12-14 mins, rotating the pan halfway through the baking time.

2 things; Firstly, I only baked the cookies for 11 minutes because I like soft/chewy cookies. Secondly always arrange your dough in a zig-zag pattern if you, like me, own a temperamental oven and hate cookies that spread (and then they end up being siamese twin cookies!).

 

After taking the pan out of the oven, let the cookies cool for 5 minutes before transferring onto a cooling rack. I tried one to see if it tasted okay and ended up eating 3. I usually don’t like a cookie that’s fresh from the oven because the chocolate is all melty and stuff, but you know what?

These cookies are best eaten warm. It’s weird because I don’t celebrate Xmas but these taste like Xmas. Happy early birthday baby Jesus!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. elise permalink
    June 5, 2010 1:59 AM

    hey may i know where you bought andes mint chocolate from? Have been searching for it for ages! Thanks. :)

    • rebelwithoutasauce permalink*
      June 5, 2010 2:16 AM

      hi, I got mine at Mustafa Centre (only $3.50!) but i’m assuming supermarkets do carry them too… i think! :)

  2. June 12, 2010 5:15 AM

    Love these cookies! I love my chocolate all melty and gooey and stuff! LOL I seem to have a problem when making cookies because they always seem to make less than what the recipe says they should. Certainly wouldn’t have anything to do with my nibbling, would it? ;-D

Leave a comment